1955

‘I feel very adventurous. There are so many doors to be opened, and I’m not afraid to look behind them.’ Elizabeth Taylor

 

1955.

Elizabeth Taylor.

Sloane Square, 1955,

a summer sky,

she walks toward me,

steps off the pavement onto the road.

A yellow dress,

off the shoulders,

a tiny waist.

She looks up and her violet eyes forever imprint on my memory.

.

1955 Eddie Fisher.

I loved Eddie Fisher,

his sweet smile,

his curling hair,

his soaring voice.

I loved Eddie Fisher.

Leaning over the balcony at the London Palladium.

The best, cheapest tickets in town:

middle seat, front row of the Gods.

I reach out my eyes, beseeching him to see my adoration.

I loved Eddie Fisher.

.

1955 Richard Burton.

The Old Vic filled with teenagers.

A school matinee,

Richard Burton is Coriolanus.

I love Richard Burton.

I sit breathless as he struts the stage,

his Roman skirt swirling.

The Myrmidons approach and

with one breath,

one gesture,

they plunge their swords into his body.

His back to us: he freezes.

A voice from the audience rings out’ “Aw you’ve deaded me!”

The spell is broken,

the audience gasps, and Richard falls to the ground ,

swearing never, ever to play a school matinee again.

.

1955

I am Cressida on stage,

looking into Troilus’s green eyes.

We look, we kiss.

The headmaster directing us says,

”You must make the audience think you are in love”.

We kiss once more our cold, dry kiss,

recalling our passionate embraces

on school fields and in dark alleyways.

And try not to show we are in love.

.

By Carole Mason

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

